Acquisitions – Waterloo Video Game Swap, Spring 2015

Twice a year, the Video Game Collectors Community (VGCC) hosts the biggest game swap meet in North America in Waterloo, succinctly calling it the Waterloo Video Game Swap. I found out about it last winter and have attended all three shows since then. Each has been a gold mine of great rare gems from some pretty awesome vendors and I’ve had to make my selections very carefully to avoid digging a very big hole.

Last weekend was the first meet of the year. Before I share my acquisitions, I thought I’d show off what I got from the first two I attended.

Spring 2014

This was a tough decision – I missed an opportunity to get Einhänder (PSX), but added this gem instead. I was a bit of a kid in a candy store, finding every game on my wishlist at the time.

Autumn 2014

I went in with the goal of filling in some gaps in my GameCube library, but when one finds an FFIV cartridge for $40, plans change.

Spring 2015

Last week’s show was the biggest yet, with way more vendors and other collectors than ever before. (Unfortunately it was crammed into the same hall and exploring the wares was really difficult in the sea of humanity.) For once I didn’t have a clear set of priorities. I like to approach these things with some sort of ranking to help me narrow my search and limit my spending. Seeing Crystal Chronicles at a couple tables made my mind up – especially for $20, when the only place I’ve found it in my town recently jacked its price to $100. Metroid II, however, has been on my radar for some time, as the last main Metroid game I’m missing (excluding the DS games).

Leave a Reply

